Fly hackle?

Hi everyone,
I am a novice fly tier, with most experience with Western nymph and wet fly patterns.
I recently moved into tying Tenkara flies with okay success. I am finding the hackle to be more of the challenge than I had anticipated.
What type of hackle do you typically use? I have been using grizzly hackle, but the hackle fibres seem so thin. I am hoping to find hackle with thicker, fuller fibres. I attached a pic of a fly that appears to have thick, full fibres. Wondering if anyone might know the type of hackle used in this pic.
Thanks!
Jason

1 Like

I think the fly shown is hackled with hen pheasant hackle.

2 Likes

I would partially agree with @diamante. I agree it is pheasant, but I think it’s pheasant cock.

@Jason_Seaward Remember to not buy into the misinformation. Sakasa kebari are not THE tenkara fly. They are one type of tenkara fly and they generally only make up 5-15% of all flies used in tenkara - in Japan. The US and other countries may skew this data because of the misinformation that exists and people only using that one type of fly.

There are also Jun kebari (what westerners call “regular” hackle).

This is an example of one I tied.

There are also Futsu kebari. These are stiff hackle wet flies. Such as this one that I tied recently.

The latter two styles make up the majority of tenkara flies. Depending on what region of Japan you go to, you will usually find a preference for either Jun or Futsu kebari.

The type of hackle that you use really depends on a lot of factors that you are trying to accomplish. One type may not have all the properties you are looking for. You can also combine hackle types too.

5 Likes

@Jason_Seaward, if you have the resources I would highly recommend the Discover Tenkara’s Complete Kebari Collection.

It is a fantastic introduction to Japanese kebari. Very informative. Here is a review written by Peder:

Thanks everyone. A lot of good information.